M-Club Hall of Fame

Morningside's 2017 M-Club Hall of Fame inductees and M-Club Coach of the Year included (from left) Don Zeleznak from the Class of 1969, Dale Guilford (1969), Jennifer (Childress) Hazelett (1998), Kyle Ortegren (2006) and Brad Schmit (2006). 

New members are inducted into the M-Club Hall of Fame each year at the annual M-Club Brunch during Homecoming weekend. The categories for Hall of Fame induction are student-athlete, coach/administrator, and team. 

A person may nominate a candidate for the M-Club Hall of Fame by completing the on-line nomination form found here

M-Club Hall of Fame Nomination Form

To be approved for induction, the candidate must have a majority of the votes from the selection committee that is chaired by the athletic director.

The current members of the M-Club Hall of Fame Selection Committee are:

Tim Jager, Athletic Director
Tom Betz, Class of 1989
Mike Cadwell, Class of 1969
Lynn Paulsen, Class of 1983
Sharon Ocker, M-Club
Larry Mason, Morningside Staff
Cheryl Gamble, Morningside Staff

The Hall of Fame honor recognizes athletic excellence, and a nominee will be considered only if they meet the following criteria, which were revised on March 9, 2011, and approved by the President of Morningside College.

* A candidate must be a graduate of Morningside College
* A candidate is eligible for nomination seven years after their Morningside graduation date
* A candidate must have received all-conference recognition in the sport for which they are being nominated
* A candidate must have made a positive impact to their team and have demonstrated athletic achievement, exemplary leadership qualities and character, and/or significant contribution to the community
* An honoree may be inducted posthumously

* A candidate must have coached or been a staff member at Morningside College for a minimum of seven years
* A candidate shall have an outstanding win/loss record and have consistently finished in the upper division of their conference while serving as a positive role model through exemplary leadership and character
* A candidate need not be a graduate of Morningside College
* An honoree may be inducted posthumously

* Nominees must have won a conference championship prior to 2001 or a national championship after 2001
* Teams will be considered after a minimum of seven years have elapsed from the last date of play for their season
* Individuals from a team and coaching staff are eligible to be recognized on an individual basis for the Hall of Fame

Champions of Character
Great Plains Athletics Conference

Proud Sponsors